Driving Without a Valid License
All drivers in Virginia are required by law to be licensed by Virginia or another state or country. If you drive without being validly licensed, you can be charged with a Class 2 Misdemeanor offense, which is punishable by a jail sentence of up to 6 months, a $1000 fine, or a suspension of your driver’s license or privilege to drive. A first offense for Driving Without a Valid License usually results in a fine or suspended jail sentence. Repeat offenses will result in a jail sentence and/or a license suspension. If you are charged with Driving Without a License, a lawyer can help you avoid conviction or to minimize punishment.
Driving With a Suspended License
If your driver’s license has been suspended, either by the courts or by the Department of Motor Vehicles, driving is a Class 1 Misdemeanor. Driving on a Suspended License is an offense that both prosecutors and judges take seriously, as it is a violation of a court order. A conviction for Driving on a Suspended License will likely result in a jail sentence and an additional license suspension.
For the prosecution to convict you of Driving on a Suspended License, however, they must prove that you were aware that your license was suspended at the time you were driving. In many cases, drivers are not aware that their license is suspended because they did not receive proper notice of the suspension from the Department of Motor Vehicles. If the prosecution cannot prove that you were aware of the suspension, they cannot prove your guilt. If you are charged with Driving with a Suspended License, we would be happy to talk to you about your case and give you advice about what to do next.
Driving With A Revoked License (§18.2-272)
If you are convicted of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), your license is automatically suspended for one year. If you drive during that suspension, you can be charged with Driving with a Revoked License. This offense is generally punished with a jail sentence, but carries a mandatory one year loss of license with no restricted privileges. In addition, any restricted driving privileges you may have had for the DWI will likely be revoked. You may also be charged with a Probation Violation with respect to your DWI.
Driving with a Revoked License is a serious offense that requires the assistance of a lawyer. We handle cases like these regularly and may be able to limit the sentence that you will face. Call us today for a free consultation about your Driving With a Revoked License charge.